The Confucius-Institute at the University of Vienna is a cooperation between:

Office of Chinese Language Council International (Hanban) and Beijing Foreign Studies University

Hanban as the executive organ of the Chinese Language Council International “is one of the non-governmental and non-profit public institutions authorised by the Chinese Ministry of Education”.

Hanban has set itself the goal to develop educational materials for Chinese language and culture, offering its services worldwide, in addition to meeting the needs of sinology students to the highest degree and contributing to global cultural diversity and harmony in the world.

Beijing Foreign Studies University

The Beijing Foreign Studies University was founded in 1941 and currently  has 13 institutes, 40 research centers and 62 disciplines. 

The university specializes in foreign languages in the areas of literature, culture, law and economics, and the development of multidisciplinary practices. Currently there are 49 foreign language courses at the university.

The University maintains relations, cooperation and exchange with 320 universities and cultural institutions in 65 countries and regions around the world.

The University is a partner of 15 Confucius-Institutes in 12 countries from Asia, Europe and America.

The University of Vienna

The University of Vienna was founded in 1365 and is the oldest university in the German language and culture region and one of the largest in Central Europe.

Currently, around 85,000 students are admitted with 182 studies. With about 8,600 employees, including more than 6,500 scientists, the University of Vienna is the largest teaching and research institution in Austria.